About Us

A tribute to Barbara Herd

SCAMPS YOUTH COMPANY (now known as TEMPO) was established in 1982 when a young man named Paul Walsh approached Barbara Herd for assistance with a proposal for a show. 'The Wizard of Oz' was SCAMPS first performance, staged at Pownall School with Barbara making all the costumes and persuading her husband Peter, of Peter Herd's Bakery, to sponsor it.   It was an early success and was followed up the next year by 'Oliver', performed at the Alderley Edge Assembly Rooms.  Again Barbara made the costumes and Peter sponsored the show, but this time she brought in friends and contacts to form a committee, and assemble and make sets to keep costs down.  Bugsy Malone was next on the stage and with up to 40 youngsters lining up to take part SCAMPS was officially formed, with Barbara as the chairman and Edith Oakes as the treasurer.

Barbara continued to make costumes and scour charity shops for items she could not make to keep costs down, while rarely providing an expenses bill as well as staging fundraising events.  She was also the inspiration behind one of SCAMPS most successful shows, The Will Rogers Follies, directed by the aforementioned Paul Walsh, which went on to win Best Staged Musical at the Buxton Music Festival.

In a joint tribute the TEMPO Youth Company Committee said: "Barbara has been the inspiration that has kept TEMPO going for three decades, amongst many changes and the rules and regulations that are involved, especially working with youth. She and her committee have given many young aspiring members the chance to have the best directors and choreographers, the best musicians, sets, sound and lighting technicians in order to fulfil their dreams and to this day she still makes many of the costumes".  Barbara is now President of the society and her efforts were recognised recently with a special achievement award by the National Operatic and Drama Association (NODA).


President Barbara Herd with Chairwoman Alison Bisset






Pictured are Barbara Herd with Alison Bisset, chairperson of TEMPO